Contact Information

NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS SERVICE OF SOUTH AFRICA

National Archives and Records Service of South Africa, Head Office

Postal address: Private Bag X236, PRETORIA, 0001

Street address: 24 Hamilton Street, Arcadia, PRETORIA 

 

Chief Director: National Archives and Libraries

Mr Puleng Kekana

Tel: (012) 441 3200

E-mail: PulengK@dsac.gov.za

 

Acting Director: National Archives
 
Ms Khanyi Ngcobo
 
Tel: (012) 441 3201
 

 

Records Management and Information Systems

The Head

Ms Erna-Marie Pretorius

Tel: (012) 441 3200

E-mail: Erna-MarieP@dsac.gov.za

 

National Film, Video and Sound Archives

The Head

Adv Dennis Maake

Postal address: Private Bag X236, PRETORIA, 0001

Street address: 698 Stanza Bopape Street, PRETORIA

Tel: (012) 441 3200

E-mail: DennisM@dsac.gov.za

 

PROVINCIAL ARCHIVES SERVICES (OFFICES WHICH DO NOT FORM PART OF THE NATIONAL ARCHIVES AND RECORDS SERVICE OF SOUTH AFRICA)

Eastern Cape Provincial Archives

The Provincial Archivist

Ms Lungiswa Mtiki

Postal Address: Private Bag X7486, KING WILLIAM’S TOWN,5600

Street Address: 5 Eales Street, KING WILLIAM’S TOWN

Tel: (043) 492 1017

E-Mail: lungiswa.mtiki@ecsrac.gov.za

 

Mthatha Archives Repository

The Head

Ms Zandile Mselwa

Postal address: please use street address

Street Address: corner of Owen Street and Alexander Road, MTHATHA

Tel: (047) 532 5148

 

Port Elizabeth Archives Repository

The Head

Ms Nobomi Ncandana

Postal Address: Dept of Sport, Recreation, Arts & Culture; Private Bag X6003, Greenacres, PORT ELIZABETH, 6001

Street address: Dept of Sport, Recreation, Arts and Culture; 2nd Floor Corporate Place, 66 Ring Road Greenacres, Port Elizabeth, 6001

Tel: (041) 492 1253/54/71/90
E-Mail: Nobomi.Ncandana@ecsrac.gov.za

 

Free State Provincial Archives

The Provincial Archivist

Mr Tshitso Challa

Postal address: Private Bag X20504, BLOEMFONTEIN 9300

Street address: 29 Badenhorst Street, BLOEMFONTEIN

Tel: (051) 522 6762. 

E-mail: tchalla@sacr.fs.gov.za

 

Gauteng Provincial Archives

The Provincial Archivist

Ms Elizabeth Mbatha

Postal address: Private Bag X33, JOHANNESBURG 2000

Tel.: (011) 355 2556

E-mail: elizabeth.mbatha@gauteng.gov.za

 

KwaZulu-Natal Provincial Archives

Head Office

The Provincial Archivist 

Dr Vukile Khumalo

Postal address: Private Bag X9012, PIETERMARITZBURG, 3200 

Street address: 231 Pietermaritz Street, PIETERMARITZBURG, 3201

Tel: (033) 342 7501

E-mail: khumalov@kzndac.gov.za

 

Oral History Unit

The Head

Mr, MM Hadebe

Street address: 230 Prince Alfred Street, PIETERMARITZBURG 3201

Tel: (078) 099 3162

E-mail: hadebem@kzndac.gov.za

 

Durban Archives Repository

The Head

Mr Rishi Singh 

Postal address: Private Bag X22, GREYVILLE 4023

Street address: Nashua House, 14 De Mazenod Street, GREYVILLE

Tel: (031) 309 5682 

E-mail: SinghR@kzndac.gov.za

 

Pietermaritzburg Archives Repository

The Head

Ms Judith Hawley 

Postal address: Private Bag X9012, PIETERMARITZBURG 3200

Street address: 231 Pietermaritz Street, PIETERMARITZBURG

Tel: (033) 342 4712 

E-mail: hawleyj@kzndac.gov.za

 

Ulundi Archives Repository

The Head

Mr Phumzile Mwandla

Postal address: Private Bag X75, ULUNDI 3838

Street address: Block 4, Unit A, ULUNDI

Tel: (035) 879 8500. 

E-mail: uldarchives@kzndac.gov.za

 

Limpopo Provincial Archives Service

The Head

Mr M Moatshe

Postal address: Department of Sport, Arts and Culture, Archives Service, Private Bag X954, POLOKWANE 0700

Street address: 1337 Potgieter Avenue, Bendor, POLOKWANE

Tel: (015) 284 4043

E-mail: Moatshem@sac.limpopo.gov.za

 

Mpumalanga Provincial Archives Service

The Head

Mr Nkitseng Mahalefa

Postal Address: P O Box 1243, NELSPRUIT, 1200

Street address: 1st Floor, Building 5, 7 Government Boulevard, Riverside Park Ext 2, NELSPRUIT

Tel: (013) 766 5081

E-mail: nfmahalefa@mpg.gov.za

 

Northern Cape Provincial Archives Service

The Provincial Archivist

Ms Elizabeth Manong

Postal address: Private Bag X5004, KIMBERLEY 8300 

Street address: Department of Sport, Arts & Culture Building, 22 Abattoir Road, Ashburnham 8301, Kimberley 

Tel: (053) 807 4700, (053) 807 4795

E-mail: emanong@ncpg.gov.za

 

North West Provincial Archives and Records Services

The Provincial Archivist

Ms Tinyiko Sempe

Postal address: Department of Sports, Arts and Culture, Private Bag X 90, MMABATHO, 2745

Street Address: Corner University Drive and Dr Albert Luthuli, MMABATHO, 2745

Tel: 018 388 3963/65/66

E-mail: SZulu@nwpg.gov.za

 

Western Cape Provincial Archives and Records Service

 

The Provincial Archivist

Ms Nomaza Dingayo

Postal address: Private Bag X9025, CAPE TOWN 8000

Street address: 72 Roeland Street, CAPE TOWN, 8001

Tel: (021) 466 8100

E-mail: Nomaza.Dingayo@westerncape.gov.za 

Reading.Room@westerncape.gov.za