Directorate Library Policy and Coordination

Functions of the Directorate

National level
To develop and coordinate library and information policies and legislation on national level in line with the National Development Plan, Outcomes 14 and the White Paper on  Arts, Culture and  Heritage.

The Directorate is managing the community library conditional grant. The strategic goal of the conditional grant is to enable the South African society to gain access to knowledge and Information that will improve their socio-economic status. The purpose of the grant is to transform urban and rural community library infrastructure, facilities and services (primarily targeting previously disadvantaged communities) through a recapitalised programme at provincial level in support of local government and national initiatives. The focus areas for the conditional grant are the following: infrastructure development, ICT (information and computer technology), library resources, staff capacity, visually impaired readers’ needs.

Provincial level
To cooperate with all nine (9) provincial library departments on the transformation and development of public library infrastructure and services in the country.

To liaise with stakeholders in the library and information services sector nationally, e.g. National Library of South Africa (NLSA), Library and Information Association of South Africa (LIASA), the South African National Council for the Blind (SANCB), National Council for Library and Information Services (NCLIS), Legal Deposit Committee (LDC), other national departments including the Departments of Basic Education and Higher Education and Training, South African Local Government Association (SALGA), etc.

Director: Library Policy and Coordination
Name Ms Rose Phasha
Telephone (+27) 12 441 3321
Cell phone (+27) 71 683 8471
Deputy Director : Library Policy and Coordination
Name Dr Tsakane Chauke
Telephone (+27) 12 441 3323
Cell phone (+27) 72 358 0248